SACRED HEART CONVENT – THALASSERRY
Sr. Minisha AC
Sacred Heart convent foundation was made at the earnest request of Fr. Michael Montero, Parish Priest of Holy Rosary church Tellicherry on 22nd March 1886 Rev. Mother Marie des Ange Superior General with pioneer sisters opened the convent in a rented house called ’ Stella Maries’ in the very heart of Tellicherry town. Later in 1900 this house was purchased from Mr. J. Rozario..On first April 1886 Sacred Heart School was opened with 52 pupils on its roll. Due to lack of accommodation for sisters and school children at Stella Maris an adjoining Bungalow was taken for rent in 1888. Fr. Montero with the help of Mr. W. Lemerle a devoted benefactor of the convent purchased the property in the name of Superior General, Mother Marie Des Ange. From the start sodalists of Sacred Heart’s were a power house of piety and virtue which prepared a good ground for the seed of religious vocations to A.C and other congregations.. Devotion to the Sacred Heart was the hall mark of both Catholic and Hindu children of the school. In 1891 Sacred Heart School was recognized as upper secondary school by the DPI. A separate European school section started in 1906 at the request of European officials and by 1909 Sacred Heart school became a complete High school. In 1918 Miss. Lilly Colaco later Mother Theodosia secured 100% in English in SSLC, a rare privilege.
It was Mother Leonora’s strenuous efforts that built up the Majestic Sacred Heart Convent and Chapel . A mighty Sacred Heart statue was erected on top of the structure. In 1954 a small nursery school was opened which was later called ‘Holy Angels’. A two storied building was constructed at Dharmadam and blessed by our Bishop on 14th May 2001. Holy Angels Junior School was shifted to this in June 2001. In 2003 Holy Angels celebrated their golden jubilee. The boarding house was closed down on the 1 st June 2004 and in 2007 some land and house were bought for Holy Angels convent from Mr. M.C Mathew, brother of Sr. Purifica. Due to the earnest request of PTA Higher Secondary section started in the school on 17 th July 2010 with commerce and Humanity streams In 2011, foundation stone was laid for 125th Memorial building for HSS by Bishop Rev. Dr. Vargheese Chakkalakal. The higher secondary building was inaugurated by Honourable Minister for Agriculture, Mr. Mohanan on 14 th May 2013. Two housing projects in memory of Mother Veronica were completed in 2017 and 2018 respectively. The sisters and the people experience the protection of the Sacred Heart all through the years.
In 1954 a small nursery school was opened which was later called ‘Holy Angels’. A two storied building was constructed at Dharmadam and blessed by our Bishop on 14th May 2001. Holy Angels Junior School was shifted to this in June 2001. Due to the earnest request of PTA a Higher Secondary section started in the school from 13 August 2010. The sisters and the people experience the protection of the Sacred Heart all through the years.
Institutions under Sacred Heart Convent:
- Sacred Heart L.P School -1886
- Sacred Heart High School – 1886
- Sacred Heart Higher Secondary School -2010
Sacred Heart Convent
Gun Dart Road
Thalassery – 6701101
Convent : 0490 2320268
e-mail : email@example.com